Chiedza C. Maponga, PharmD, MHPE is the Director for the IPERI, and Co-PI for the UB-UZ AITRP. Dr. Maponga is a tenured Associate Professor at UZ and Director of the UZ School of Pharmacy. Professor Maponga has a joint faculty position between the UZ School of Pharmacy in the College of Health Sciences and the University at Buffalo School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Professor Maponga has been the UZ Co-PI for the entire period of the prior AITRP award and he is well-respected by UZ faculty, government ministries and community organizations. Professor Maponga is PI for the NIH-funded ACTG International Pharmacology Specialty Laboratory at UZ and director of the International Pharmacotherapy Education and Research Initiative. He leads multiple professional committees which includes being the Chair of the Drug Registration Committee and a member of the Medicines Control Authority of Zimbabwe Council and Chairman of the UZ national Traditional Medical Practitioners’ Council. Professor Maponga has been a key faculty leader in the re-energizing of the UZ faculty research infrastructure.

Gene D. Morse, PharmD, is the PI for the UB-UZ AITRP. Dr. Morse is the Associate Director, New York State Center of Excellence in Bioinformatics and Life Sciences at UB, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, and a Research Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics. Dr. Morse has been a Co-Investigator in the University of Rochester (UR) CTU since 1986. Dr. Morse has NIAID funding for the UB ACTG Pharmacology Specialty Laboratory and a NIAID contract for the HIV Clinical Pharmacology Quality Assurance program. Dr. Morse serves on the Hepatitis Transforming Sciences Group, Chair of the ACTG Clinical Pharmacology Laboratory Core and Chair of the ACTG Clinical Pharmacology Advisory Group. He directs the UB Translational Pharmacology Research Core which has gained an international reputation for bioanalysis, pharmacokinetics and pharmacogenomics and he is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist since 1992. Dr. Morse directs a New York State-approved, CLIA-registered laboratory and an international fellowship program along with post-doctoral, residency and pre-doctoral programs. Dr. Morse has extensive mentoring experience as department chair and associate dean and currently in leadership positions in the UR Center for Human Experimental Therapeutics and the UB Clinical and Translational Research Center. Dr. Morse is a mentor for the Northwestern HRTP, a TAC Member for UC Berkeley and has mentored scientists from Uganda, Nigeria, Thailand, China, and India. 

Tinashe Mudzviti, B.Pharm(Hons), MPhil (MD), is the Associate Director for the IPERI and oversees the clinical practice program. Mr. Mudzviti is Chair of the Newlands Clinic Research Unit, where he is working on increasing the research agenda. He is taking up further work in pharmacovigilance and therapeutic drug monitoring. Mr. Mudzviti is responsible for running the Parirenyatwa Opportunistic Infections Clinic’s adherence and pharmacovigilance program.


Support Staff

US Team

Kelly Tooley, MSEd, BS, is the UB-UZ AITRP Project Administrator and coordinates program operations.

Jill S. Hochreiter, BS, MT ASCP, is the supervisor for the Translational Pharmacology Research Core's Laboratory, and provides mentoring to trainees in clinical laboratory management, method development and validation, and sample analysis.

Francesco Lliguicota, BA, provides technical support for the program’s web-based infrastructure.

UZ Team

Primrose Jaravani, is the UB-UZ AITRP Project Coordinator in Zimbabwe, where she coordinates program operations. She also provides support for the program's information technology needs